Dear visitors of the National website of the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015 in Russia!

The year of 2015 has been declared the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies (IYL) by the United Nations. The resolution notes that this year is an anniversary for a number of important milestones in the history of the science of light.

ITMO University is proud to be participating in the International Year of Light 2015, contributing to the development of light technology and knowledge about light and optics, promoting international cooperation and understanding.

Perhaps optics is the science which importance is easiest to show the non-specialist. Speak the language of optics is much easier than, for instance, to speak the language of high-energy physics. I like that we can show people things that they understand and which I hope inspire them to learn new things for yourself every day.

Welcome to the portal of the International Year of Light and lighting Light-based Technologies in Russia!


Vladimir Nikolaevich Vasilyev
Rector of ITMO University, Professor,
Corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Sciences,
Corresponding member of the Russian Academy of Education,
Vice-President of the Union of Rectors of the Russian Federation,
Chairman of the Council of Rectors of St. Petersburg Universities,
Chairman of the St. Petersburg Committee for the Celebration of the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015

Уважаемые посетители Портала Международного года света и световых технологий 2015 в России!

2015 год объявлен Генеральной Ассамблеей ООН Международным годом света и световых технологий. В принятой резолюции отмечается, что этот год является юбилейным для ряда важных вех в истории науки о свете.

Университет ИТМО гордится тем, что участвует в проведении Международного года света 2015, способствуя развитию световых технологий и знаний о свете и оптике, содействуя международному сотрудничеству и взаимопониманию.

Возможно, оптика — наука, чью важность проще всего продемонстрировать неспециалисту. Говорить на языке оптики гораздо удобнее, чем, скажем, на языке физики высоких энергий. Мне нравится, что мы можем показать людям вещи, которые они поймут, и которые, надеюсь, сподвигнут их узнавать новое для себя каждый день.

Добро пожаловать на портал Международного года света и световых технологий в России!

Владимир Николаевич Васильев
Ректор Университета ИТМО,
Доктор технических наук, профессор, Член-корреспондент Российской академии наук,
Вице-президент Российского союза ректоров,
Председатель Совета ректоров вузов Санкт-Петербурга,
Председатель Санкт-Петербургского комитета по проведению Международного года света и световых технологий 2015