2015

UN General Assembly 68th Session proclaimed 2015 as the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies (IYL 2015). The resolution noted that this year is an anniversary for a number of important events in the history of the science of light.

Welcome message from Rector of ITMO University

ITMO is proud to participate in the celebration of the International Year of Light 2015, promoting the advancement of Knowledge about light, optics and light-based technologies, inspiring future generations to careers in these fields, and contributing to international cooperation and understanding through Light.

Read more

1015

Ibn al-Haytham writes his works on optics

Ibn al-Haytham put forward his theory that the "natural light and colored rays affect the eye" and "a visual image is obtained by means of rays that are emitted by visible bodies and get to the eyes." Thus, in VI BC. (i.e. 17 centuries before al-Haytham) Pythagoras expressed exactly the same (close to the present one) idea that objects become visible due to the particles emitted by them.

Al-Haytham believed that each point of the observed object could be associated with a perceiving point of the eye. He also gave a correct definition of binocular vision and made an assumption of the finite speed of light.

1815

Augustin Fresnel introduces the concept of a light wave

Augustin Fresnel introduced the concept of a light wave and formulated the principle of interference having done several new experiments that differed from those conducted by Thomas Young (in particular, the experiment with the "Fresnel double mirror").

Based on this principle, in 1818 Fresnel elaborated the theory of light diffraction. He suggested the method of calculation of the diffraction pattern, based on the wave front fragmentation (so-called Fresnel zones). Using this method, he solved the problem of light diffraction on the edge of a semi-screen and circular hole.

1865

James Maxwell creates the theory of light propagation

James Maxwell concluded that magnetism is characterized by vortex lines, while electric current is translational. In the same paper, Maxwell proceeded to the examination of disturbance propagation in his model and noticed the similarity of vortex environment properties and Fresnel’s luminiferous ether. This was reflected in the practical coincidence of the disturbance propagation velocity (the ratio of electromagnetic and electrostatic units of electricity defined by Weber and Rudolf Kohlrausch) and the speed of light, which was measured by Arman Hippolyte Louis Fizeau. Thus, Maxwell made a decisive step toward the construction of the electromagnetic theory of light.

1905

Albert Einstein proposes the theory of the photoelectric effect

Einstein proposed a thesis that not only emission, but also the propagation and absorption of light are discrete; these quanta were subsequently called photons. The thesis allowed the great physicist to explain the two puzzles of the photoelectric effect: why the photocurrent arose not at every frequency of light, but started at a certain threshold depending on the type of metal, and why the energy and speed of the emitted electrons did not depend on the intensity of light but only on its frequency. Einstein's theory of photoelectric effect precisely matched the experimental data that was later confirmed by Robert Millikan’s experiments.

1965

Arno Penzias and Robert Wilson open the cosmic microwave background radiation

In 1965, Arno Penzias and Robert Woodrow Wilson from the Bell Telephone Laboratories in Holmdel (New Jersey) built a device similar to Robert Dicke’s radiometer that they intended to use not to search for relic radiation that Dicke predicted but for experiments in the field of radio astronomy and satellite communications. When calibrating the installation they revealed that the antenna had excess noise temperature of 3.5 K, which they could not explain. After receiving a call from Holmdel, Dicke humorously remarked: “Boys, we've been scooped!” The joint discussion of the Princeton group and the Holmdel group concluded that such temperature of the antenna could only caused by the cosmic microwave background radiation.

1965

Charles Kao reaches incredible success in the field of optical fiber communication based on light transmission

Charles Kao explored the possibility of transmitting information over long distances via optical fiber cables. The main theoretical conclusion of his work was the determination of the threshold value of signal attenuation. He found out that to make the information travel inside the optical fiber channels without significant losses, the attenuation value should not exceed 20 dB/km. This fact spurred researchers to search for materials that are more likely to conform to the established criteria. Thorough testing led to the conclusion that the best candidate for optical communication lines was fused silica (SiO2), which demonstrated the lowest level of signal attenuation.

2015

2015 год объявлен Генеральной Ассамблеей ООН Международным годом света и световых технологий. В принятой резолюции отмечается, что этот год является юбилейным для ряда важных событий в истории науки о свете.

Приветствие ректора Университета ИТМО

«Университет ИТМО гордится тем, что участвует в праздновании Международного года света 2015, содействуя развитию знаний о свете, оптики и световых технологий, вдохновляя будущие поколения к карьере в этой области, а также содействуя международному сотрудничеству и взаимопониманию через Свет».

Читать подробнее

1015

Ибн аль-Хайсам выдвинул собственную теорию, согласно которой «естественный свет и цветные лучи влияют на глаз»

Ибн аль-Хайсам выдвинул теорию, согласно которой «естественный свет и цветные лучи влияют на глаз», а «зрительный образ получается при помощи лучей, которые испускаются видимыми телами и попадают в глаз». При этом в VI в. до н. э. (то есть за 17 веков до аль-Хайсама) Пифагор высказал точно такую же (близкую к современной) идею, что тела становятся видимыми благодаря испускаемым ими частицам.

Аль-Хайсам считал, что каждой точке наблюдаемого предмета можно поставить в соответствие некоторую воспринимающую точку глаза. Он же дал правильное определение бинокулярного зрения и высказал предположение о конечности скорости света.

1815

Огюстено Френель вводит понятие световой волны.

Огюстен Френель вводит понятие световой волны и формулирует принцип интерференции, проделав по сравнению с Томасом Юнгом несколько новых опытов (в частности, опыт с «бизеркалами Френеля»).

Исходя из этого принципа, в 1818 году Френель разработал теорию дифракции света, на основе которой предложил метод расчета дифракционной картины, основанный на разбиении фронта волны на зоны (так называемые зоны Френеля). С помощью этого метода он решил задачу о дифракции света на краю полуэкрана и круглого отверстия.

1865

Джеймс Максвелл пришел к выводу, что магнетизм имеет вихревую природу, а электрический ток - поступательную.

Джеймс Максвелл пришел к выводу, что магнетизм имеет вихревую природу, а электрический ток — поступательную.

В той же статье Максвелл, перейдя к рассмотрению распространения возмущений в своей модели, подметил сходство свойств своей вихревой среды и светоносного эфира Френеля. Это нашло выражение в практическом совпадении скорости распространения возмущений (отношения электромагнитной и электростатической единиц электричества, определенного Вебером и Рудольфом Кольраушем) и скорости света, которую измерил Арман Ипполит Луи Физо. Таким образом, Максвелл сделал решительный шаг к построению электромагнитной теории света.

1905

Эйнштейн выдвинул тезис, что не только излучение, но и распространение и поглощение света дискретны.

Эйнштейн выдвинул тезис, что не только излучение, но и распространение и поглощение света дискретны; позднее кванты получили название фотонов. Этот тезис позволил великому физику объяснить две загадки фотоэффекта: почему фототок возникал не при всякой частоте света, а начиная с определенного порога, зависящего только от вида металла, и почему энергия и скорость вылетающих электронов зависели не от интенсивности света, а только от его частоты. Теория фотоэффекта Эйнштейна с высокой точностью соответствовала опытным данным, что позднее подтвердили эксперименты Роберта Милликена.

1965

Арно Пензиас и Роберт Вильсон открывают космическое микроволновое излучение.

В 1965 году Арно Пензиас и Роберт Вудроу Вильсон из Bell Telephone Laboratories в Холмдейле (штат Нью-Джерси) построили прибор, аналогичный радиометру Роберта Дикке, который они намеревались использовать не для поиска реликтового излучения (предсказанного Дикке), а для экспериментов в области радиоастрономии и спутниковых коммуникаций. При калибровке установки выяснилось, что антенна имеет избыточную шумовую температуру в 3,5 К, которую они не могли объяснить. Получив звонок из Холмдейла, Дикке с юмором заметил: «Ребята, нас обскакали!» («Boys, we’ve been scooped!»). После совместного обсуждения группы из Принстона и Холмдейла заключили, что такая температура антенны была вызвана реликтовым излучением.

1965

Чарльз Као исследует возможность передачи информации на большие расстояния с помощью волоконно-оптических кабелей.

Главным теоретическим выводом его работ становится определение порогового значения величины затухания сигнала. Чтобы информация переносилась внутри волоконно-оптических каналов без существенных потерь, величина затухания не должна превышать 20 дБ/км. Данное обстоятельство подстегнуло исследователей к поиску материалов, которые более всего соответствовали бы установленным критериям. Тестирование привело к выводу, что наиболее подходящим кандидатом для оптической связи является кварцевое стекло (SiO2), в котором наблюдался наименьший уровень затухания сигнала.